Qstarz BT-1000P Review

1090_qstarz_bt_q1000_bigThe Qstarz BT-1000P is a GPS logging unit that we carry on our bicycle.

It initially caught our eye because we loved the idea of being able to track our path but didn’t want to purchase an expensive GPS system with a screen that would be heavy on battery usage and need new maps for every country. We also prefer paper maps for navigating so a GPS navigation unit seemed excessive.

We asked Qstarz for one of their loggers to test and these are our thoughts after 2 months of using it.

Some of its features:

  • Tracks our movements and altitude
  • Lithium-ion battery life up to 32 hours
  • Compatible with Nokia BL-6C battery (very cheap)
  • Lightweight (65g with battery)
  • Mini USB for charging and connecting to a computer
  • Compact size (46mm x 72mm x 20mm)
  • Adjustable recording intervals
  • Logs up to 200,000 records
  • One button logs waypoints

What we like

Overall we’re quite pleased with the unit and would recommend it to others. We appreciate its:

Low Cost – At $80-100 U.S. you won’t worry if you lose it and its black case seems quite robust, in case it gets dropped off the bike. The battery is included in that price, along with a miniUSB cord, a car charger, computer software and manual.
Small Size – It fits well inside the map case on our handlebar bag. This also protects the logger from rain.
Easy operation – There are only two buttons to figure out. A sliding button on the left-hand side is what you push from ‘off’ to ‘log’ to start the tracker. Just wait for an orange light to start blinking (a steady light means it’s still acquiring a signal) and away you go. The large red button on top of the unit is what you push to mark points of interest or waypoints during your trip.
Battery Life – The unit lives up to its advertised 32 hours of battery life (in ideal conditions). We regularly use it for about 25 hours (4-6 days of cycling) before recharging it and have only seen the low-battery indicator come on once (indicates about 10% charge left).

Downloading Tracks

Once you’ve recorded a track, you can connect the unit to your computer to download the data, using the miniUSB cord. You do this using the software that comes with the logger. It’s simple to install on Windows.

The amount of data to transfer from the unit depends on the amount of time you’ve been using it. We’ve found that copying the data, saving the information and clearing the unit at least once every 1-2 days is necessary since the amount of information to transfer can get unmanageable. Also, days later you may forget which specific waypoints you’ve marked.

Once the tracks are loaded into the program, it’s quick to label, and join tracks together. The interface will display the altitude for the day, speeds, and overall route of the day. If you’re connected to the internet, you can view your track overlaid onto Google Maps.

Once we’ve finished importing our tracks and labelling them in a photo editor, they look like this:

gowrieparkmeander.jpg

Things to Improve

Mostly we’re happy with the unit but we think there are a few things that could be improved:

  • Under bright sunlight conditions, the lights can be hard to see, to determine if the unit is operating or is turned off.
  • The software is limiting. The standard graph, for example, puts altitude on one axis and time on the other. We would prefer a graph showing altitude compared to kilometers travelled. With further time, we’ll try and find something a bit nicer to display the information we’ve collected.
  • There are a few spelling mistakes in the software, which detracts slightly from the overall impression
  • It would be nice to ‘drag and drop’ the tracks directly off the unit to a folder on our laptop, rather than going through the software

Comments

  1. off white
    19th July 2022 at 3:12 pm #

    I am just writing to make you understand what a nice discovery my girl had browsing your site. She picked up plenty of pieces, which include how it is like to have a marvelous giving character to let many people without difficulty learn chosen advanced subject matter. You really surpassed readers’ desires. Thanks for giving such precious, dependable, revealing not to mention unique guidance on your topic to Jane.

  2. bape
    5th August 2022 at 7:33 pm #

    I precisely had to thank you very much once again. I do not know the things I might have used without those tips contributed by you about this problem. It was actually an absolute daunting situation in my opinion, nevertheless understanding a well-written manner you managed it took me to leap with gladness. Extremely thankful for this support and even trust you are aware of an amazing job you are accomplishing training many others through the use of your webpage. Most likely you have never encountered all of us.

  3. russell westbrook shoes
    8th August 2022 at 7:16 am #

    I wanted to create you one little bit of word to be able to say thanks a lot over again over the incredible solutions you’ve shared here. It has been simply wonderfully open-handed with you to make unreservedly what a number of us would’ve offered for sale for an e-book to get some money for themselves, principally seeing that you could have tried it if you ever considered necessary. These things in addition worked to provide a fantastic way to recognize that many people have similar dream much like my very own to realize whole lot more pertaining to this issue. I am sure there are thousands of more pleasant moments ahead for folks who examine your website.

  4. golden goose
    24th August 2022 at 12:04 pm #

    I wish to express my love for your kind-heartedness supporting those people who must have help on this matter. Your very own commitment to passing the solution up and down appeared to be extraordinarily productive and have always made girls much like me to reach their desired goals. Your personal invaluable hints and tips can mean a whole lot a person like me and somewhat more to my fellow workers. Thanks a lot; from everyone of us.

  5. off white shoes
    28th October 2022 at 12:46 am #

    I as well as my guys were actually viewing the nice thoughts on your site and the sudden came up with an awful suspicion I had not expressed respect to you for those strategies. My men came as a result thrilled to read through all of them and have in effect in truth been having fun with those things. Thank you for simply being well considerate and also for going for this kind of extraordinary subject matter millions of individuals are really desperate to know about. Our own sincere apologies for not saying thanks to sooner.

  6. off white
    10th November 2022 at 7:25 am #

    I precisely wanted to thank you very much once again. I am not sure the things that I might have taken care of without the entire ideas shared by you about such a industry. Certainly was an absolute difficult concern in my circumstances, however , considering a new well-written strategy you dealt with that took me to leap over joy. I am grateful for the service as well as have high hopes you are aware of an amazing job you’re doing educating the others by way of a site. I’m certain you’ve never got to know any of us.

  7. golden goose sneakers
    15th November 2022 at 4:06 pm #

    My spouse and i felt so thankful John managed to round up his studies via the ideas he received from your very own web page. It is now and again perplexing just to choose to be making a gift of hints which people today may have been trying to sell. We really discover we have the writer to appreciate for this. The entire illustrations you have made, the straightforward site menu, the friendships your site give support to promote – it’s got many unbelievable, and it is letting our son in addition to us reckon that the situation is excellent, which is wonderfully indispensable. Thanks for all the pieces!

  8. curry 8
    15th November 2022 at 4:07 pm #

    I’m also writing to let you know what a wonderful discovery my daughter developed visiting your blog. She learned plenty of pieces, including what it is like to have an ideal giving character to make other people with ease master a number of multifaceted subject areas. You really did more than readers’ expectations. I appreciate you for rendering the insightful, dependable, informative and even fun thoughts on the topic to Tanya.

  9. off white outlet
    18th November 2022 at 11:09 pm #

    I want to voice my love for your generosity giving support to men and women who actually need guidance on this particular situation. Your very own dedication to getting the solution along appeared to be astonishingly advantageous and have constantly helped somebody just like me to get to their ambitions. Your new informative instruction denotes a whole lot to me and a whole lot more to my colleagues. Warm regards; from everyone of us.

  10. curry shoes
    28th November 2022 at 1:50 pm #

    I must show my affection for your kind-heartedness for those people that should have guidance on the idea. Your very own commitment to getting the solution throughout had been particularly practical and has made folks like me to arrive at their endeavors. Your new insightful tips and hints can mean a great deal to me and especially to my colleagues. Regards; from each one of us.

  11. curry shoes
    2nd December 2022 at 4:57 am #

    I have to point out my passion for your kind-heartedness for those individuals that require help on this niche. Your real commitment to passing the solution along was quite effective and have surely empowered folks like me to reach their dreams. The informative guidelines implies a whole lot to me and somewhat more to my colleagues. Thank you; from everyone of us.

  12. supreme clothing
    2nd December 2022 at 4:58 am #

    I am also writing to let you be aware of what a magnificent discovery my cousin’s girl developed browsing your site. She mastered some pieces, which include how it is like to possess an amazing teaching spirit to let folks clearly fully grasp several multifaceted things. You undoubtedly surpassed our expected results. Thanks for delivering the important, safe, edifying and in addition cool thoughts on this topic to Jane.

  13. supreme clothing
    3rd December 2022 at 6:43 am #

    Thank you a lot for giving everyone such a terrific chance to check tips from here. It can be so useful and also stuffed with a good time for me and my office friends to search your site at minimum 3 times per week to study the newest guidance you will have. And definitely, I’m actually motivated with the incredible guidelines you serve. Certain 3 facts in this post are undoubtedly the most efficient we have all ever had.

Leave a comment